• Co-chaired by Dr Kate Ward and Professor Nicholas Harvey, joined on the Local Organising Committee by the University of Southampton’s Dr Claire Clarkin, Professor Richard Oreffo and Professor Cyrus Cooper, this year’s Bone Research Society Annual Scientific Meeting was a huge success. 222 delegates attended the conference, hosted at the University of Winchester, for 3 days of cutting edge musculoskeletal research, bringing together world leaders in clinical and basic sciences.

    The society’s most prestigious prize, for outstanding scientific achievement, the Dent Award, was this year presented to Professor Cyrus Cooper, Director of the MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Unit (MRC LEU), and Vice-Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton. Professor Cooper said: “It is a privilege to receive this award on behalf of all the staff at the MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Unit and numerous coinvestigators in this country and abroad. Our work has impacted the prevention and treatment of major musculoskeletal disorders globally, and it was a huge pleasure to contribute to the leadership of the 2018 Bone Research Society Conference, which highlighted many examples of the world leading musculoskeletal science undertaken at the University of Southampton.”

    The BRS meeting provided a fantastic forum in which ideas across basic, translational and clinical sciences were shared, with particular support for new investigators including 10 Young Investigator Awards, poster pitching sessions, a highly successful new investigator event and ample opportunity for networking and career development advice. The conference included themed sessions around rare bone diseases, muscle and bone interactions, and sessions highlighting the “imaging powerhouse” represented by biomechanical engineering in Southampton, and the University’s world leading expertise in the developmental origins of disease and tissue regeneration.

    Professor Nicholas Harvey, co-chair of the meeting and Professor of Rheumatology and Clinical Epidemiology at the MRC LEU, University of Southampton, commented: “The 2018 BRS conference provided a fantastic showcase for the vibrant musculoskeletal research undertaken in Southampton, which brings together basic scientists, clinicians, biomechanical engineers, and computer scientists tackling problems from regenerating bone matrix to assessing risk of fracture in older age.”

    Dr Kate Ward, who led the Local Organising Committee, added “The 2018 BRS conference permitted the dissemination of cutting-edge musculoskeletal science, and opportunities for many young investigators to present their work. As organisers, we congratulate all those who shared their research findings and all those awarded prizes, and our particular congratulations to Professor Cyrus Cooper, as this year’s Dent Prize recipient.”


    The Bone Research Society (BRS), formerly the Bone and Tooth Society, was founded in 1950. The BRS is one of the largest national scientific societies in Europe dedicated to clinical and basic research into mineralised tissues, and is the oldest such society in the world. Meetings are held annually, attracting a wide audience from throughout the UK and beyond. The presentations are traditionally balanced between clinical and laboratory studies. The participation of young scientists and clinicians is actively encouraged.